Playful intermission

Well it isn’t really playable, but it’s partly interactive.

I thought it would be nice to have a small pause before I continue my musings on path follow behaviours. Click on the link to see a demo of  pathfollow and spherical avoidance (aka collision avoidance).

Scene 1 shows the path following behaviour described in the last post. Scene 2 shows a new one I’m working on at the moment. Each scene features 20 agents, if I counted correctly. I had some weird issue with terrible performance with only 10 agents before, but now it seems to run smoothly. I’d appreciate feedback on performance very much nonetheless.

In scene 1 you can usually see an unstable equilibrium involving 3 agents. One of them manages to break out, but the other 2 cannot. I think it’s probably still unstable, it might just take a very long time to resolve.

You can switch between scene 1 and 2, with the keys 1 and 2.

SimpleSteer Demo

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Playful intermission”

  1. Takuan says :

    Interesting, looks like things are coming along nicely so far. I’m working on steering at the moment as well and particularly on the combination of steering and pathfinding, which is how I found your blog.

    Keep up the good work 🙂

  2. Takuan says :

    Source is fabulous 🙂

    I find these kinds of projects fascinating. One thing I’m discovering is that A* itself is easy, but robust navigation and steering is not. Heh.

  3. Takuan says :

    Or… Sources, even. Those are helpful too 🙂

Leave a comment